KnowledgeBase | Forum | Contact Us | M1Files.com | Documents Remote Access and Support over the Internet with TeamViewer

Help Contents
Expand All | Contract All

 

Category Descriptions

Categories help organize your parts & labor for quicker search access and estimating writing. A set of standard Category Descriptions are provided with the program. You can use these standard Categories as is, or edit them or delete them and come up with your own. Category descriptions are used throughout the program to describe groupings of parts and labor operations. This allows for the opportunity to collect information on types of work performed.

A good set of Categories provides the means to segment and examine your business by various types of work performed in your shop. This information, such as that provided on the category Profit Summary report, helps shops understand where things are running smoothly, delivering expected profits and areas where the shop must make changes to improve. It is also possible to track outside labor or sublets such as Towing when you assign those order items into a Towing Category or similar. While it is possible to add new categories at any time, consider any changes to existing categories very carefully. 

Adding a Category Description

1. Choose Category Description from the Standard Descriptions dialog box.

The Category Descriptions dialog box displays.

2. Select Add.

The Enter Category Description dialog displays.

3. Type in a new category description.

4. Select OK.

The new description is added to the list.

Editing a Category Description

1. Choose Category Description from the Standard Descriptions dialog box.

The Category Descriptions dialog box displays.

2. Select Edit.

The Edit Category Description dialog displays the current description.

3. Overtype with a new category description.

4. Select OK.

The changed description is added to the list.

Deleting a Category Description

1. Move the cell marker to the cell of the category description entry you wish to delete.

2. Select Delete.

A dialog box asks that you confirm the deletion.

Select Yes to delete.